Premio Nonino


December 1st, 1973. Giannola and Benito Nonino, acting in respect of local traditions, revolutionize the way Grappa is presented in Italy and the world: they create Monovitigno® Nonino, distilling separately the pomace achieved from Picolit grapes.

In 1975 Giannola and Benito Nonino with the aim of “stimulating, awarding and having officially acknowledged the ancient autochtonous vine varieties of Friuli that are dying out, Schioppettino, Pignolo and Ribolla Gialla” create the Nonino Risit d’Aur Prize. In 1977 with the clear aim of highlighting the permanent topicality of rustic civilization the Nonino Risit d’Aur Prize is joined by the Nonino Prize for Literature (Mario Soldati is the president of the jury) which, starting from 1984, is completed with the International Section.


Winners 2019

Nonino Risit d’Aur Prize Gold Vine Shoot 2019

Damijan Podversic and Ribolla Gialla

To Damijan Podversic for having given passionate impulse to the cultivation of Ribolla Gialla, an ancient autochthonous vine variety of Friuli Venezia Giulia, and started the process for the recovery of lands suitable for viticulture and abandoned since 1940 on Mount Calvario in the province of Gorizia. His work symbolically represents an extraordinary research opportunity and one of the most genuine expressions of the regional wine world. The awarding of the prize wants to be also a passionate appeal to the winemakers of the Region so that they find an agreement on the production specifications to obtain as soon as possible the D.O.C. for Ribolla Gialla which guarantees its production exclusively for the territory of Friuli Venezia Giulia. The prize is delivered by Giannola Nonino

Nonino International Prize 2019

Juan Octavio Prenz

A writer of absolute originality and happily set apart, Prenz unites in an unmistakable work the epic fantasy of the great Latin American literature and the mysterious shadow in which the characters of the great Middle European literature hide themselves. An Argentinean of Istrian-Croatian origin, Prenz is a soft and passionate singer of the wandering, painful, sanguine and picaresque odyssey that scatters the men in the labyrinth of human existence, makes them wander in the sea of life pulling them away from any unrelenting identity but without uprooting from their heart a common fidelity of destinies, affections, peculiarities, the card game in the tavern and the resistance to violence, to tyrannical power. In the poems of Mascaron de Proa the female images that after crossing the oceans on the prows of sailing ships fret in the water of the bay, become stories of love, loneliness, cheat and fight. The grotesque novel La fàbula de Innocenzo Onesto, el decapitado is a parable of the inhumanity hanging over everybody’s fate. A masterpiece like El Señor Kreck intertwines the Argentinean bloody military dictatorship – which forced Prenz to exile – and the destiny of a man that tries to disappear in an anonymous shadow, a narration that has many voices, many points of view. In another wonderful epos, Solo los arboles tienen raices, the flow of migrants becomes a chorality of very human events, tragic, roguish, reckless, always faithful to themselves, a fresco of migrations, affective bonds, and transgressions in the sea of what Saba used to call the warm life.

Nonino Prize 2019 ‘Master of our time’

Anne Applebaum

Anne Applebaum is one of the great moral witnesses of our time, and one of the most significant of international public intellectuals. She is a historian and journalist, whose work on the history of totalitarianism in the twentieth century, and on the resurgence of nationalism and populism in the twenty-first, is of the highest importance. Born in Washington DC, Professor Applebaum holds American and Polish citizenship. She is the recipient of many awards and academic honours. Her book, Gulag: A History, won the Pulitzer Prize and a nomination for the National Book Award. She has written for many leading journals in Britain and the USA, and was on the editorial board of The Washington Post from 2002 to 2006.


The President of the Jury

Antonio Damasio is Dornsife Professor of Neuroscience, Psychology and Philosophy, and Director of the Brain and Creativity Institute at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles.

In 2003 he received the Nonino Prize as Master of Our Time; the Prize was delivered by Peter Brook.  In 2005 he was awarded the Asturias Prize in Science and Technology.