The Jury

The President of the Jury

Sir Vidiadhar
Surajprasad Naipaul

Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul, also known as V.S. Naipaul, is a Trinidadian-British essayist and novelist. Born in 1932 in Chaguanas, a small village on the Caribbean Island of Trinidad, to Brahmin Indian parents, in 1950 he moved to Britain to attend Oxford University. He worked for the BBC and worked as a literary critic at the New Statesman (1956 – 1960). He obtained many prestigious acknowledgements. In 1990 Queen Elizabeth appointed him Knight Bachelor. Three years later, in 1993 he received the Nonino Prize for the book, India: A Million Mutinies, the Prize was delivered him by Emmanuel Le Roy Ladurie. In the same year he was awarded the first ever David Cohen British Literature Prize. In 2001 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.


Syrian poet and essayist naturalized Lebanese, Adonis contributed to release Arab poetry from its traditional schemes. He won the International Nonino Prize in 1999, the LericiPea Prize in 2000 and the Goethe Prize in 2011.

John Banville

Irish novelist and journalist. Well known for his clear and disenchanted prose. He was awarded the International Nonino Prize in 2003, the Booker Prize in 2005 and the Prince of Asturias Award in 2014.

Ulderico Bernardi

Italian professor of Sociology of cultural practices at the Department of Economic sciences of Ca’ Foscari University, Venice. He won the Nonino Prize in 1979 for his articles published in the Corriere della Sera.

Peter Brook

English drama and movie director. He was the director of the Covent Garden Theater, the Royal Opera House, and the Royal Shakespeare Company in London, and of the Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord in Paris. He was awarded the Nonino Prize in 1991. Dan David in 2005.

Luca Cendali

Architect and Professor of History of Design at IED in Venice, Luca Cendali designed the decanters of the Nonino Collection ÙE® Cru Monovitigno Picolit. He has been the Nonino Prize Secretary since 1998.

Antonio R. Damasio

Portuguese neuroscientist, he is the director of the Brain and Creativity Institute at the University of Southern California where he is Professor of Neurology, Neuroscience and Psychology: He was awarded the Nonino Prize "Master of our Time" in 2003.

Emmanuel Le Roy Ladurie

He is considered one of the most important modern French historians. Director of the École pratique des hautes études in Paris, Professor of History of Modern Civilization at the Collège de France and General administrator of Paris’ Bibliothèque Nationale. He was awarded the Nonino Prize in 1992.

James Lovelock

English chemist, independent scientist, writer and environmental researcher. He formulated the Gaia Theory. Professor of Chemistry at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, member of the Royal Society since 1974, winner of the Nonino Prize in 1996 and Companion of Honour in 2003.

Claudio Magris

Italian writer and Germanist, President of the Jury until 2005. He dedicated important studies to the culture of Middle-Europe and, more in general, to the crisis of contemporary literature. He received the prestigious Prince of Asturias Award in Literature in 2004. He has been a member of the Accademia dei Lincei since 2006.

Norman Manea

Romanian writer naturalized United States citizen. He taught European and Jewish Literature at the Bard College in New York. He was awarded the International Nonino Prize in 2002; he has been a member of the Royal Society of Literature since 2012.

Edgar Morin

French sociologist and philosopher. He became interested in human sciences, taking inspiration from the theses of Hegel, Marx and Freud. Knight of the Legion D’honneur, in 1994 he was awarded the Premio Internacional de Catalunya. He won the Nonino Prize in 2004.

Ermanno Olmi

Italian movie and drama director. He was awarded the Nonino Prize in 1979 for “The Tree of Wooden Clogs” (Palme d’Or in 1978). In 1987 Silver Lion with “Long Live the Lady!” And Gold Lion in 1988 with “The Legend of the Holy Drinker”. In 2008 he received the Honorary Gold Lion at the Venice Film Festival.